Register

Techie Help Needed Please

Christmas, Easter, Birthday, Hanukkah, Diwali and Ramadan chat.

Techie Help Needed Please

Postby Alison Wright » Mon Sep 24, 2012 1:58 am

Just had an email from OH tonight saying that our 5/6yr old video tape recorder will be obsolete after our final switchover this Wednesday coming, & suggesting I buy this http://www.tesco.com/direct/tvonics-hv2 ... d=207-0426 if I want to continue recording TV programmes.

While I've always been absolutely fine programming new TV's & videos recorders even before auto-tune was invented - I'm a complete technophobe with modern gear like mobile phones & cameras. :oops:

So, just wondering, before I buy this recorder, is there any kind of add-on I can get that will update our present one? If not - how easy/difficult are these new digital jobbies to set up?

Any help/advice much appreciated :crossed

Re: Techie Help Needed Please

Postby jeral » Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:14 am

Hi Alison Wright.

I'm not a techie (believe me, I'm not!). However if you are going for a replacement gadget that should last you ages, best to know what's out there. Humax is a very good name and here's one as shown via John Lewis @ £259: http://www.johnlewis.com/231674495/Product.aspx (Shop around but they're all pretty much price matched).

I have a similar but earlier model (not HDMI, no USB or TV iPlayer-style option) but does have output jacks for stereo system (which I use). So what are the differences? I guess you need to do tabulated columns and decide what you want.

The Tesco box at the price would certainly "do" - the question is whether if you paid more you could have more, so depends what you want.