Register

Hanging Baskets

Just testing

Hanging Baskets

Postby Puss-in-boots » Sun May 13, 2012 10:52 am

I am going to be putting together some hanging baskets soon and wondered if you buy yours all ready to go or do you do yours yourself? I ask as i have never done them before so if you do put yours together yourself do you start from the outside in or the othe other way around. I would be very gratefull for any hints/tips that any of you may have and also the best time to do them.

TIA Puss.x

Re: Hanging Baskets

Postby hypercharleyfarley » Sun May 13, 2012 6:05 pm

Hello - sorry nobody's replied so far - and it's ages since I had hanging baskets here (I go away quite a bit in the summer & don't want the faff of fixing an automatic watering system) but maybe this will help a bit.

Since the main problem seems to be a profusion of plants and relatively little compost for nutrients and water retention, people sometimes add water-retaining gel. It's relatively easy to add nutrients when watering - I used to use Phostrogen. You can get a solid-sort of "basket" - a bit like a plastic bowl with a drip tray attached - and this seems to minimise water loss, but I don't think they look as nice as the conventional ones because some plastic usually shows.