Register

what flowers are these please?

Just testing

what flowers are these please?

Postby Gillthepainter » Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:00 pm

Tony bought them at the local nursery, but didn't keep the label.

And how come the pretty one on the right has different coloured flowers, pink and purple, on the same plant? How odd.

Re: what flowers are these please?

Postby hypercharleyfarley » Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:28 pm

verbena of some sort - I don't know why there are two colours on the one plant, but it could be that as the flowers age they change colour as they begin to fade. Could it in fact be two plants, or can you clearly see flower stems of two colours both coming from the same main stem?

Postby Gillthepainter » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:29 am

Good morning, Hypercharleyfarley

And well done you. It looks as though they are verbena "tuscany" (with white eye).
Thank you so much, I'm not very good at flower names.
My painting partner, whom I share a studio with, is excellent however, as she used to run a flower shop in Putney.

And yes, definitely. The two colours stem into exactly the same root.

Postby Tatihou » Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:43 am

Verbena. I love them - and they strike very readily from cuttings and can be overwintered successfully in a cold frame - providing the winter weather doesn't freeze too low.

Keep dead-heading and feed with a tomato fertiliser and they flower most of the summer.

Postby Stokey Sue » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:49 am

I supect your pied one is either

actually two plants, grown from seeds that were touching and so the roots have fused

Or
two cuttings that fused when first rooted in a liquid medium, so one grafted onto the other instead fo developing a separate root system

Postby juliana50 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:16 pm

Stokey Sue wrote:I supect your pied one is either

actually two plants, grown from seeds that were touching and so the roots have fused

Or